6th World Congress on Mental Health and Deafness
Riddel Hall, Queen's University Belfast

16-19 September 2014
Pathways to Rights

Dr. Tiejo van Gent

Dr. Tiejo van Gent, PhD is child and adolescent psychiatrist with a experience in mental health and deafness since 1987. In 1991 he was appointed as assistant professor at Leiden University Medical Centre The Netherlands. He has been in charge of one of the first mental in-patient and out-patient mental health services for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children and young people worldwide, department at The Academic Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Centre Curium, Leiden University Medical Centre. In 1994 he co-founded the Special Interest Group for Children and Families of the European Society for Mental Health and Deafness (ESMHD). In 2007 van Gent accepted a full-time assignment by the RoyalEffatha Guyot Group, currently known as Royal Dutch Kentalis, which delivers education and care facilities for children, young people and adults with hearing, speech and language problems throughout The Netherlands. In addition he is seconded as consultant to the ambulatory mental health services for deaf and hard of hearing adolescents de Riethorst in Ede. In 2007 he co-organised the ESMHD European Congress on Mental Health and Deafness in Haarlem, The Netherlands. He published his PhD thesis on prevalence, pathogenesis and clinical complexities related to mental health problems in deaf children and adolescents, based on findings from a large research project. He gives many lectures, publishes in international and Dutch peer-reviewed journals and handbook-chapters, and co-organises conferences on mental health and deafness both in the Netherlands and abroad. Dr. Tiejo van Gent is presenting in Spoken Language.  

Organising Committee

Brian Symington, MBE. President.

Dr. Ines Sleeboom-van Raaij.  Co-President/ESMHD President.

Dr. Margaret du Feu,  OBE. Chair of Scientific Committee.

Renata Sarmento. Manager.

Scientific Committee

Dr. Margaret du Feu, Ireland, Chair
Dr. Ines Sleeboom-van Raaij, The Netherlands
Dr. María Gascón-Ramos, UK
Dr. Tiejo van Gent, The Netherlands
Dr. Johannes Fellinger, Austria
Dr. Otilia Rodrigues, Australia
Ana García García, Spain
Dr. Cathy Chovaz, Canadá
Dr. Benito Estrada, México
Dr. Lauri Rush, USA
Dr. Robert Pollard, USA
Professor Marleen Jansen, The Netherlands
Dr. Maria Cecilia Moura, Brazil
Dr. Katherine Rogers, UK
Dr. Joanna Kobosko, Poland

Contact Us

Please contact the organisers of WCMHD 2014 at:


or use the contact form on this website